Return home!
ROUND 2 - Grubel takes the Round and the Championship Lead at The Bend   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 23/04/2022 at 2:05:15 PM 
Tim Macrow Racing's Trent Grubel had the perfect weekend at round 2 of the Championship at the Bend Motorsport Park in South Australia, taking his first All Properties Group Pole Position award and all 3 race victories with fastest laps.

Saturday morning Trent Grubel from Tim Macrow Racing took his first All Properties Group Pole Position award taking pole with a 1:42.7636, Gilmour Racing's Noah Sands was 2nd ahead of Ryan How who was having his first start in Australian Formula 3. R-Tek Motorsport's Roman Krumins took the National Class pole with South Australia's Chris Slusarski the Invitation Class pole in his FT50. Championship contenders Ben Taylor and Mitchell Neilson both had gearbox issues to bring up the rear of the field in 13th and 14th.

Grubel on Pole
Trent Grubel with his first All Properties Group Pole Position award

In race 1 Grubel led into the first turn and was never headed, extending his lead to 14 seconds at the chequered flag. Gilmour Racing's Noah Sands finished 2nd in a lonely race ahead of 99 Motorsport's Ryan Astley who is starting to extract some performance out of his Dallara F308/11. Tim Macrow Racing's Ben Taylor had to fight from the rear of the field after a gearbox failure in qualifying, he passed R-Tek Motorsport's Roman Krumins for 4th 2 laps from the end but ran out of time to catch Astley. Ruff Racing's Gerrit Ruff had a solid start to his weekend crossing the line in 6th.

Race 1 start
Trent Grubel leads into turn 1

In the Invitational Class Chris Slusarski in his Tatuus FT50 has been outstanding winning the class by over a minute and finishing outright 7th amongst the Formula 3s of Bo Jensen and Ross McAlpine. Matthew Roesler and Paul DiBaise rounded out the field in 10th and 11th.

Matthew Woodland spun his Tatuus on lap 4 and beached himself whilst Ryan How's first Formula 3 race never got started after a sensor failure. R-Tek Motorsport's Mitchell Neilson failed to make the start with the team falling agonisingly short of completing repairs to his Dallara's gearbox after qualifying.

Race 2 and it was again a lights to flag victory for Grubel talking the win and fastest lap. R-Tek Motorsport had a late night rebuilding the gearbox for Neilson which paid dividends, Neilson launching off the line from 14th to be 7th heading into turn 1. Neilson continued to charge through the field to take 2nd 8 seconds adrift. Sands recovered from a stall at the start to round out the podium. Tim Marcow's young driver How made up for yesterday's gremlins charging through the field from the back row to take 4th from Taylor in 5th and Astley, who was running 3rd in the early laps eventually falling to 7th.

In the National Class Ruff took the class win after an eventful race. Ruff ran wide after relentless pressure from Krumins who would then spin off a few laps later handing the class lead back to Ruff. Krumins was unable to restart resulting in a DNF. R-Tek Motorsport's Bo Jensen retired with a fuel pressure issue.

Slusarski again won the Invitational Class ahead of DiBiase with Matthew Roesler and Matthew Woodland further back.

In the feature race of the weekend it was again Grubel who led into turn 1 followed by Astley, Krumins and a slow starting Sands. Sands would make it make up to 2nd by the end of the lap but would never catch Grubel who would take his first Grand Slam. Sands came under late pressure from How who spun with a few laps to go. Neilson had a solid run from the back back of the grid to take the last podium spot ahead of Astley, Taylor and the recovering How.

Slusarski crossed the line 7th to win the Invitational Class. Krumins finish 8th ahead of Ruff who took the National Class round win.

Round 3 of the Championship takes place a Winton Raceway in June.

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!