Return home!
2022 Season Preview   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 17/02/2022 at 11:36:01 PM 
After 2 years of cancellations and false starts, the Australian Formula 3 Championship will be unleashed again this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park.

This year is looking to be one of the most competitive fields in years, with an increase in younger drivers and newer machinery set to take to the track in 2022 in a series comprising of 6 round at 5 different tracks in 4 states. All drivers will be competing for the 2022 Australian Championship with those in the older model cars also aiming for the National Class Championship. The $500 All Properties Pole Position Award will also be back in 2022.

One of the expected front-runners for the upcoming season would have to be Ben Taylor from Tim Macrow Racing, Taylor was leading the 2021 Championship after the first round before the remainder of the series was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Mitchell Neilson from R-Tek Motorsport would have to be a front-runner given he won 2 of the 3 races in 2021, Neilson has stepped in the F308/11 for the 2022 season.

99 Motorsportís Ryan Astley Will no doubt also be mixing it at the front, Astley was very competitive in the older Ď04 model in 2019 and will be relishing the opportunity to show his talent in his later model machinery.

An unknown factor and dark horse for 2022 is Noah Sands from Gilmour Racing, Sands was very successful in Formula Ford and has had some impressive time during pre-season testing. Gilmour Racing will have special meaning for this yearís Championship with it being the first full season since the passing of the late great Errol Gilmour.

Max de Meyrick from R-Tek Motorsport is another driver expected to trouble the leaders of his performance in 2021 is anything to go by, de Meyrick was at time the quickest driver on track and has since done plenty of time in his Dallara F3015/07.

Another unknown quantity for the 2022 season is Trent Grubel from Tim Macrow Racing., Grubel will be driving the most modern car in the field with the Dallara F312/16 to make its debut in the Australian Champion. Grubel has done some local meetings and shown some impressive pace.

One man with a point to prove in 2022 is Gerrit Ruff from Ruff Racing who agonisingly lost the 2019 National Class Championship by a couple of points after a driveshaft failed only a handful of laps from the end of the season. Ruff will be keen to go one better in 2022.

R-Tek Motorsportís Daniel Price Will have to wait until his arm has healed after a freak accident ruled him out of round 1, Price has produced some impressing times in testing and will be another driver to look out for. His place in Sydney will be taken by R-Tekís reserve driver Andrew Roberts who has also showed good pace previously finishing 2nd in the National Class.

Tim Macrow Racingís Ross McAlpine is the oldest driver in the field and a proud member of the gentleman drivers club, but donít let his age fool you, Ross has some decent pace and the experience to teach the younger generation a thing or two.

A number of drivers will also commence their 2022 campaigns later in the year, most notably Chris Gilmour who re-purchased and restored the Dallara F305/07 the he and Errol won the Australian Drivers Championship with.

The 2022 Australian Championship commences this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park which includes the first ever Australian Formula 3 night race.

2022 Australian Formula 3 Championship

Round 1 - February 18-19, Sydney Motorsport Park, Sydney (NSW)

Round 2 - April 22-24, The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend (SA)

Round 3 - June 10-12, Winton Raceway, Benalla (Vic)

Round 4 - August 19-21, Queensland Raceway, Ipswich (Qld)

Round 5 - Sep 30-Oct 2, Sydney Motorsport Park, Sydney (NSW)

Round 6 - November 25-27, To be Announced

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!