Return home!
ROUND 1 Qualifying: Rookie Taylor takes Pole in his first qualifying session   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 5/03/2021 at 9:55:22 AM 
Rookie Ben Taylor has taken the first All Properties Group Pole Position Award in his first ever Australian Formula 3 qualifying session, taking along with it the first point of the season. The Tim Macrow Racing driver lapped the Eastern Creek circuit in 1:25.5816 to edge out 99 Motorsport's Ryan Astley by just 4-tenths of a second. R-Tek Motorsport's Max De Meyrick was relegated to third after the chequered flag by Astley's last lap, De Meyrick does however take the first point for the National Class season with his class pole position.

It was a close session with the top 6 drivers shuffling places regularly and in the end covered by only one and a half seconds. R-Tek Motorsport's Mitch Neilson was 4th ahead of Roman Krumins who is starting to get comfortable in his new Gilmour Racing Dallara F308/11. Gerrit Ruff from Ruff Racing was a close 6th ahead of R-Tek's young driver Ray-Yu Wang, who is getting faster with every session and just tagging off the back of the top 6 with McAlpine Motorsport's Ross McAlpine 8th.

For Taylor though it's all eyes forward. "Really happy with the result but now focusing on the races to come." Taylor said, "The car felt really good straight out of the gate. Tim Macrow Racing gave me a good car to chase pole position so a big thanks to the team."

Yesterday in practice Taylor took the top spot in the final 2 practice sessions whilst Ruff was fastest in the first. It was a close day of practice with the top 5 all within a second. The Tim Macrow Racing driver lapped the Eastern Creek circuit in 1:26.9 to be the fastest for the day. Reigning National Class Champion Krumins appeared to struggle to settle into his new surrounds in the Gilmour Racing Dallara F308/11 whilst Wang, who has have very limited seat time due to lockdowns took the opportunity to gain as much experience as possible. It was heartbreak for Matthew Vanderburg though who was forced to withdraw from the weekend with engine issues.

It sets up a fascinating battle for the first race of the Australian Formula Championship season this afternoon, racing commences at 2:18pm local time.

Qualifying Results
1 Ben Taylor - Tim Macrow Racing - 1:25.5816
2 Ryan Astley - 99 Motorsport - 1:26.0359
3 Max De Meyrick - R-Tek Motorsport - 1:26.4803
4 Mitch Neilson - R-Tek Motorsport - 1:26.5932
5 Roman Krumins - Gilmour Racing - 1:26.8099
6 Gerrit Ruff - Ruff Racing - 1:27.2306
7 Ray-Yu Wang - R-Tek Motorsport - 1:29.8080
8 Ross McAlpine - McAlpine Motorsport - 1:31.8104

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!