Return home!
2021 Info Guide and Technical Regulations Released   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 2/12/2020 at 11:26:48 AM 
Australian Formula 3 Management has released the Information Guide and Sporting and Technical Regulations for the 2021 Australian Formula 3 Championship.

The Championship will follow a similar format, however there are two significant changes. The first as previously announced is the inclusion of later model cars up to a build year of 2016. The most distinct feature of the Dallara F312/17 is the high-nose cone allowing for more streamlined airflow over the front of the car. The cars also come with the MEGA-Line paddle-shift as standard. Category Manager Ian Richards previously said. “It’s an important step in keeping the category both affordable and relevant”.

Max Verstappen driving the Dallara F312/17 before stepping straight into Formula 1
Max Verstappen driving the Dallara F312/17 before stepping straight into Formula 1

2017 Australian Formula 3 Champion Calan Williams drove the Dallara F312/17 in Europe after he took the title for Gilmour Racing on his way to competing in the FIA Formula 3 Championship, whilst Max Verstappen and Lance Stroll both stepped straight out of a Dallara F312/17 into a Formula 1 drive, though now the pathway to Formula 1 all but requires FIA Formula 3 and FIA Formula 2.

The second most notable change is that all cars from a 2002 build year will now be included in the Championship Class points-score, this will lead to a more competitive championship battle with some of the older models regularly mixing it with the newer machinery. “It allows drivers who outperform their older model cars being rewarded for their efforts whilst those in newer cars need to be more consistent, because a bad day can now cost more points” Richards said. Drivers in 2002 to 2007 cars will still also battle it out for the National Class.

The full 2021 Information Guide and Sporting and Technical Regulations can be downloaded here.

The 2021 Australian Formula 3 Championship Calendar kicks off at Sydney Motorsport Park in early March.

Round 1 - March 5-7, Sydney Motorsport Park, Sydney (NSW)

Round 2 - April 16-18, Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick (Qld)

Round 3 - June 11-13, Winton Raceway, Benalla (Vic)

Round 4 - August 6-8, Queensland Raceway, Ipswich (Qld)

Round 5 - October 22-24, Wakefield Park, Goulburn (NSW)

Round 6 - December 3-5, The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend (SA)

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!