Return home!
Round 6: Margoís Perfect Year as Krumins Steals National Class   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 27/11/2019 at 11:05:55 AM 
R-Tek Motorsport's John Magro has capped off his undefeated year by winning all 3 races at Queensland Raceway. In the National Class R-Tek Motorsportís Roman Krumins stole the class in the final race after rival Hammersley Ruff Racingís Gerrit Ruff suffered a drive shaft failure with 6 laps to go.

New Australian Champion Magro battled with McDonaldís Gilmour Racingís Josh Buchan into turn 1 of the feature race, it was Magro who prevailed and led to the flag though he was hounded all the way by Buchan. In the battle for 3rd Wilsonís Team Racingís Shane Wilson held a slender 2-point lead over Brook Motorsportís Rielly Brook. The pair changed places multiple times until Wilson spun handing 3rd to Brook, the pair tied on points with Brook taking the place on count-back.

The National Class Championship went down to the last race. Ruff just needed to finish to claim the title, but disaster struck on lap 7 when a driveshaft failure brought an end to his race and title hopes. Krumins swept through to take the class win and title by 5 points. 99 Motorsportís Ryan Astley maintained his consistently quick year to finish 7th outright in the feature race and 3rd in the National Class Championship.

Earlier in Race 2 Magro again got the better start holding the lead to the chequred flag ahead of Buchan, who has been turning very competitive times all year. The battle for 3rd has really tightened up with Wilson now on 2 points in front of Brook. It was the latter who took 3rd in race 2.

Ruff took 3rd and the National class win ahead of Wilson. Krumins managed to get past Astely when Astley ran wide on lap 2.

It was a similar story from Race 1 where Magro again to the victory from Buchan, Brook, Ruff and Wilson, however it was Astley came home ahead of Krumins. Magro had earlier taken his 5th All Properties Group Pole Position Award.

Magro's Race 2 victory takes his record-breaking streak to 17 races and if he prevails in the final race of the season, it will be the first time in Australian Formula 3 history that a driver has won every race of the season.

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!