Return home!
Formula 3 Heading to the Bend in 2018   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 8/12/2017 at 9:28:59 AM 
The 2018 Australian Formula 3 Premier Series will again contest 6 rounds across 4 different States.

Commencing at Winton Raceway as a part of the newly formed Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS) in March, the series will then contest rounds at Queensland Raceway, Morgan Park, Sydney Motorsport Park and Wakefield Park before the series finale at the newly constructed Tailem Bend Motorsport complex “The Bend” in South Australia.
Category Manager Ian Richards said: ‘We are excited to be heading to The Bend for the season finale, the track looks to be perfectly suited to Formula 3’.

The Formula 3 Premier Series will continue to be coordinated under Formula 3 Management, with the revitalised structure proving to be highly successful in 2017 culminating in a 19-car field at the Certica City of Goulburn Cup finale at Wakefield Park.

Two of this year’s young drivers have already progressed overseas with Champion Calan Williams travelling mid-year to meet with for Fortec Motorsports before testing at Barcelona next weekend in preparation for his 2018 season in the Euro Formula Open Formula 3 Series.

Certica City of Goulburn Cup winner Harri Jones is currently competing in the Indian and Middle East based MRF Challenge, while Australian Formula 3 graduate Todd Hazelwood’s recent Super2 Title has seen him graduate to the Supercars main game field for 2018.

‘Formula 3 continues to be an essential component of the pathway for talented young drivers whether their aspirations be directed to professional motorsport nationally or internationally, and we already have a larger number of young drivers expressing interest in Australian Formula 3 for 2018’, Richards added.

Six rounds four States:

Rd 1 Winton Raceway (Vic) 9-11 March.

Rd 2 Queensland Raceway (Qld) 20-22 April.

Rd 3 Morgan Park (Qld) 8-10 June

Rd 4 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) 29 June-1 July

Rd 5 Wakefield Park (NSW) 7-9 September. (City of Goulburn Trophy)

Rd 6 The Bend (SA) 19-21 October.

The Bend Motorsport Complex
Photo: Rob Surman

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!