Return home!
Round 1, Magro wins, Williams breaks lap record   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 22/05/2017 at 9:03:50 AM 
John Magro from Alpine Motorsports has taken out the opening round of the 2017 Australian Formula 3 Premier Series in a weekend that saw 3 different winners over the 3 races and the outright lap record broken.

Gilmour Racing duo Calan Williams and Chris Gilmour topped the times in the first, and what would become the only practice session as teams got to grips with the Morgan Park Circuit. Rain on Friday afternoon led to most teams opting not to run for the remainder of the day.

Saturday weather was much more favourable and it was Williams who took out the first All Properties Group Pole Position award with a staggering 1:07.999, over a second quicker than team-mate Gilmour, Magro was 3rd, R-Tek Motorsportís Roman Krumins 4th and local boy Jason Hore 5th in the older í04 Dallara.

Race 1 saw ĎGun-Startí Gilmour take an early lead ahead of Williams and Magro. Further back National Class contenders Krumins and Shane Wilson had separate spins dropping them down the order. On Lap 12 Williams got past Gilmour pulling away to take the win, lowering the lap record on Lap 14 to a 1:07.948 on the new Hankook tyres.

Race 2 started controversially when the two Gilmour Racing drivers collided soon after the start. Jason Hore was off reverse grid pole with Wilson alongside who both made slow starts. Gilmour made one of his gun starts from row 2 collecting Williams whilst avoiding the slower front row.
Magro assumed the lead taking a comfortable victory over Hore, Krumins got past Wilson for 3rd while further back R-Tek Motorsportís Nathan Kumar got past the Tatuus of Riely Brook for 5th.

Race 3 was a much more straight forward affair. The damage to Williams car was too great to repair in time leaving Gilmour with a lights-to-flag win. Kumar made a great start to jump to 4th at the start but spun on lap 3 bringing out the safety car for a brief appearance. Magro and Krumins crossed the line 2nd and 3rd with Hore, Brook, Wilson and Kumar rounding out the placings.

Magro now has a 6 point lead over Gilmour with Kumar 3rd after stepping up to the premier class this year. Krumins won the National class and has a 15 point lead over Wilson.

Round 2 is in three weeks at Mallala Motorsport Park, it will be Formula 3ís first appearance there since 2010.

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!