Return home!
Phillip Island now included in 2017 Calendar   
Story By: Formula 3 Managment  Date: 31/03/2017 at 12:10:48 PM 
The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series will visit Victoria’s Phillip Island circuit to compete for the Victorian Road Racing Championship as part of its 2017 calendar.

‘The Victorian Road Racing Championship for the John Roxborough Trophy is a particularly prestigious part of our sport with a history dating back to 1968 when it was first won by John Walker in an Elfin Mono AF2’, Formula 3 Management spokesperson Mike Drewer said today.

Other past winners of the title include John Roxborough (1969 Lotus 32B), John McCormack (1971 Elfin MR5), Kevin Bartlett (Lola F5000 1972, 1974, 1975), Alfredo Constanzo (Lola F5000 1976), and John Leffler (Lola F5000 1977).
The title event was last held in 2002 and was won current Nissan Supercars star driver Michael Caruso driving a Dallara 301 AF3.

‘We are delighted that the Phillip Island Auto Racing Club (PIARC) has seen fit to reconstitute the Victorian Road Racing Championship title for Round 4 of the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series’, Drewer added.

‘This title is part of the DNA of Australian open-wheeler racing with other past winners including such names as Arthur Abrahams, Simon Hardwidge, Brian Sampson, Wayne Ford, and James Manderson.’

Australian Formula 3 competition for 2017 commences at the Morgan Park circuit in Queensland for Round 1 on 19-21 May.

‘Re-scheduling of the calendar has come about as a result of the promoter at Winton cancelling a meeting that was to have hosted the first round of our Series’, Mike Drewer said.

The 2017 Formula 3 Series Premier Series will accommodate entries including older F3 chassis and other open-wheelers including Formula 1000, Formula Ford 2000, Formula Renault, Toyota Racing Series, Formula BMW, and similar vehicles.


Morgan Park (Qld) 19-21 May

Mallala (SA) 9-11 June. The F3 Master of Mallala Cup

Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) 1-2 July

Phillip Island (Victoria) 18-20 August. Victorian Road Racing Championship

Queensland Raceway (Qld) 15-17 September. The F3 City of Ipswich Super Prix’

Wakefield Park (NSW) 20-22 October. The F3 City of Goulburn Trophy

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!