Return home!
Macrow & Alpine sweep final round   
Story By: F3 Media Release  Date: 13/11/2016 at 4:27:38 PM 
THE FINAL round of the 2016 Australian Formula 3 Premier Series has gone the way of triple champion Tim Macrow, who today confirmed his reign as the series’ most successful driver.

As Macrow powered to the 47th and 48th victories of his top-class Australian open-wheel career, competitive racing was a feature behind as Jon Collins, Cameron Shields and Roland Legge fought intensely for second, third and fourth overall.

Shields ultimately finished second for the final round, once again showing race craft beyond his 15-year-old age.

In race two he out foxed Roland Legge with a cunning move into turn two to grab second position, while in the third he, Legge and Collins battled for a majority of the 15-lap duration – Shields ultimately finishing behind his title-winning teammate in third.

Collins’ return to Australian Formula 3 came with plenty of speed – but also challenges in launching his McDonald’s Gilmour Racing Dallara off the line.

Poor starts in both races ensured the Sydneysider was forced to carve his way through the field in both races – doing so with great effectiveness in race three.

Quickly catching the squabbling Legge and Shields, Collins passed his teammate with a nice move into turn six before setting sights on the R-Tek Dallara driver in front of him.

In a great exchange, the pair ran side by side through turns two and three mid-race, interlocking wheels and briefly making contact before Collins was able to sneak through.

An opportunistic Shields was next to pounce, quickly following his teammates lead and leaping to third place in the closing stages.

Legge settled for fourth place and ultimately finished the round in the same position.

Out in front Macrow’s reign continued as he ended 2016 with his 16th and 17th victories of the season – a clear record for the class across 18 years of Formula 3 national competition in Australia.

The 17 wins achieved by his team, Alpine Motorsport, fall just two short of Team BRM’s all-time record of 19 victories by any one team in a single year – the last time Macrow won the championship.

Shane Wilson won the National class after an unfortunate mechanical issue sidelined closest contender Roman Krumins in race two – a broken CV joint ultimately ruling him out of the final race all together.

A race one DNF ultimately cost Nathan Kumar a spot on the podium, his national class hopes dashed by that non-finish and Wilson’s consistency throughout the weekend.

Ross McAlpine won the Kumho Cup class despite a rough weekend that saw fuel pump issues curtail a lot of his Sunday running.

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!