Return home!
Macrow’s the three-time champion after PI perfect score   
Story By:  Date: 11/09/2016 at 6:08:52 PM 
ALPINE MOTOR SPORTS driver Tim Macrow became the first three-time champion of Australian Formula 3 after taking a perfect point score at Round 6 at Phillip Island today.

Macrow (#88 Dallara/Mercedes) led all but one lap of the two races today to seal the title, taking a 48 point lead in the Australian FORMULA 3 Premier Series into the final round at Sydney Motor Sport Park in November. A perfect score at the final round would see Anthony equal Macrow’s 249 point tally, but the tie-breaker would go to the Melbourne driver, who has 14 wins to Anthony’s three.

Macrow was ecstatic after joining Mark Skaife, Bib Stillwell, John McCormack, and Paul Stokell in the club of 3-time Australian Open Wheel Title winners.

“It’s been a great year for the team, which is essentially a new team, running an older-spec car. Alpine Motor Sports have done a great job all season, and it was great to cap off the title with a perfect score to seal the deal,” said Macrow.

Team Manager Dennie Rumble’s smile was wider than it’s usual girth as he replaced the #88 with #1 on the Alpine Motor Sport Dallara's right side rear wing endplate.

“To come in first year in the top class and win the title is amazing. The team has done a superb job all year. Never in my wildest dreams did we expect to get 14 wins against Team Errol (Gilmour Racing) and Team Ricko (R-Tek Motorsport).”

“A special thanks to this bloke as well! (pointing at Tim Macrow). I might shout him a Grove Wine or two tonight!”

The day ended in heartbreak for Christopher Anthony (#17 McDonalds Gilmour Racing), with the Dallara 2011-spec cars’ weakness - the long straights and sweeping turns of the Phillip Island circuit, ultimately proving his downfall.

Anthony couldn’t keep up with his teammate Cameron Shields in the older spec F307 Dallara, consigning him to third for the round after duelling with Roland Legge (#8 Mackay Regional Council Dallara/Mercedes).

Legge, the only other driver to lead a lap today, struggled through the weekend with illness but still managed to challenge Anthony all day in a similar specification car, with some thrilling, on the edge driving, especially around turn 2.

Overshadowed by the series title being clinched, Nathan Kumar (#7 Bluechip Taxation Dallara/Mercedes) improved significantly in pace since the May Phillip Island round to secure a perfect score in the National Class over Roman Krumins.

In the Kumho Cup class, a thrilling finale is setup between Shane Wilson and Ross McAlpine, with Wilson taking the class lead during the meeting to take a 6 point lead into the final round. With the Formula Race Car Association expected to field some additional cars for the final round, the title is up for grabs.

The final round of the series will be held in conjunction with Round 7 of the Shannons Nationals at Sydney Motor Sport Park on November 11-13, with this round shown in Speedweek on SBS on October 2 at 2pm.

Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!